Our 2020 National Merit Students


Ethan Henry, Luke Knull, Frederick Kyser, and Timothy Pinyayev were named National Merit Semifinalists in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. They will continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered in the spring of 2021. To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition.

The National Merit® Scholarship Program (NMSC), is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and approximately 400 business organizations and higher education institutions. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®)—which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.5 million entrants each year—and by meeting published program entry and participation requirements. National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July. Those scholarship recipients will join some 345,000 other distinguished young people who have earned the National Merit Scholar title.

Alexandra Born, Nathan Born, Yvonne Colson, Elise Hertzman, and Ethan Bisselberg were named National Merit Commended Students in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. They are among approximately 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation who are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2020 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT (PSAT).  

Congratulations to our newest National Merit students!

National Merit Semifinalists (l to r): Luke Knull, Ethan Henry, and Frederick Kyser. Not pictured: Timothy Pinyayev.

National Merit Commended Students (l to r): Ethan Bisselberg, Yvonne Colson, Nathan Born, Alexandra Born. Not pictured: Elise Hertzman
 : National Merit Commended Students

Back to School News       Print News Article