Making a Difference

I Make a Difference 2021

The I Make a Difference Award was created to recognize the extraordinary contributions of dedicated and involved people who regularly go above and beyond the expected to 'make a difference' in the Madeira City School District – those who aren’t satisfied with the status quo. The board selects new recipients each year after reviewing nominations from staff, parents, students, community members, and alumni. Receiving the award this year are Jay Adrick, Dennis Klasmeier, Dr. Kristen DeMarco, Dr. Ted Folger, Tim Hemler, and Kenji Matsudo.   

Jay Adrick and Dennis Klasmeier volunteered countless hours over the past year on the newly renovated MHS Medert Auditorium. From the planning stages through construction to the opening, they worked behind the scenes to provide Madeira with their professional guidance and expertise. They continue to volunteer as they navigate the technical challenges of preparing the theater for use in the multitude of district events held in the space each year. Jay and Dennis have been forward-thinking through all phases, integrating the latest technology and training staff members.  

Dr. Kristen DeMarco, Dr. Ted Folger, and Tim Hemler selflessly donated their time and expertise to establish, track, and assess COVID-19 data within the Madeira community during the worst part of the pandemic. As members of the district’s HealthWatch Assessment Team, they ensured staff and students would be safe while continuing to educate and learn in the best possible way. They met weekly to review the indicators and make recommendations to the school administration and board members while managing their own jobs and families.  

Kenji Matsudo showed dedication, vision, patience, and courage in leadership during a time when the world was full of fear and uncertainty. As Superintendent, he maintained a calm presence, gave parents and students options, and worked tirelessly to keep students, staff, and faculty safe during the Covid-19 pandemic. Thanks in part to his efforts, Madeira was one of a few districts that gave families a choice to stay in person or go virtual and allowed students to safely resume in-person learning after winter break.

Nominations are accepted at any time throughout the year. Information about nominations and previous recipients can be found at Office/Board of Education/I Make a Difference Award

I Make a Difference   

Pictured are 2021 I Make a Difference Recipients (front row l to r): Dr. Ted Folger, Kenji Matsudo, Dr. Kristen DeMarco.
Row 2: Jay Adrick, Dennis Klasmeier, Tim Hemler

Back to School News       Print